Heat Wave


I’ve never known it to be so hot for so long up here in the mountains. Ninety-five degrees, for gosh sakes! It’s times like this that I’m glad I’m single.

I wear tank tops and short to Pickleball, fat thighs and flabby arms notwithstanding. It’s too hot to look good. after taking a shower, I wear loose linen pants and a cotton tee shirt.

air conditioner at cabin

I do have one of those portable (?) air conditioners that you hook up a hose to a window. I would have bought a conventional window air conditioner but all my windows open side-to-side, not up and down. I placed the portable one in one of my living room windows. In past years I haven’t found it to be effective, barely cooling the room to eighty-seven degrees. Last year I didn’t even pull it out from behind my television.

With the heat wave predicted, I positioned it in the window. I knew to open the cabins’ windows at night and then close them when the heat started, trapping in the cold air. This year I turned on the air conditioner as soon as the room got to eighty degrees. Throughout the day, the room stayed between seventy-eight and eighty degrees, acceptable to me. I turned it off when it cooled down after eight at night.

Right before I went to bed, I opened the windows in the bedroom and turned on the ceiling fan. That got the room cool enough to sleep in alone. It seemed luxurious to have the cool sheets and the queen-sized bed to myself.

Louie on the bed

Even Louie, my dog, didn’t crowd up at his usual place, at the head of the bed where the other pillow would be. He lays down on the bottom of the bed, as anxious to get away from my heated body as I was to stay clear of his.

In the cooler months, I do crave a warm body beside me. Not just any body, but one I would enjoy snuggling with and helping me warm the bed. I draw the line at spooning with my dog. Ee-yew!

 

One Response to “Heat Wave”

  1. Alexis Koch Says:

    I have a girlfriend who sleeps with 3 dogs!!! A small, medium and large dog. Oh no!

Leave a Reply

